We use cookies to provide the best site experience.

Switzerland signs European declaration on eGovernment

October 12, 2017 | Legal Alerts

Switzerland signs European declaration on eGovernment

On Friday, 6 October 2017, a declaration on eGovernment jointly drawn up by the EU and EFTA in the context of the Ministerial eGovernment Conference in Estonia was signed by the Swiss Federal Councillor. The declaration contains five core principles for eGovernment and is intended to be a guide for further development.

The 32 EU and EFTA countries signed a joint declaration to promote eGovernment in the context of the ministerial meeting on 6 October 2017 in Tallinn. With the Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment, a joint foundation will be laid to advance the digitalisation of administration both nationally and internationally. The service processes in the administration should be conducted digitally as far as possible and be available to all. Also, data entry for citizens and companies should be reliable and secure. In addition, efforts will be made for IT systems to be compatible nationally and internationally.

The objectives of the declaration are compatible with the strategies adopted by the Federal Council in this sector. In the case of the upcoming revision of the eGovernment Strategy Switzerland, increased coordination with the principles of the Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment should take place. Elements of the declaration concern intercantonal and international cooperation and the mutual transfer of knowledge and the use of expertise.

Legal disclaimer. This article does not constitute legal advice and does not establish an attorney-client relationship. The article should be used for informational purposes only.
Switzerland European declaration on eGovernmentEFTA
Show more